Squad Details of Rajasthan Royals (RR) for Indian Premiere League 2011 (IPL 4) | Assam Journal

Squad Details of Rajasthan Royals (RR) for Indian Premiere League 2011 (IPL 4)

Rajasthan Royals is a team franchise of Indian Premiere League (IPL) who is co-owned by bollywood film-star Shilpa Shetty, Raj Kundra and Emerging Media. It is the team who managed to be the champions of the opening edition of the IPL Tournament which was held in the year 2008. The team is being led by Shane Warne in all the three previous IPL seasons and is still retained as the captain and also the coach in the upcoming 2011 edition. Rajasthan Royals is not known for having some really great players in their box and the squad usually comprises of a combination of some experienced players and many new youngsters. The team is valued at approximately around 130 million USD and has made some good pre-tax revenue as well.

They were among the two teams which were permanently suspended by BCCI for breach of contract but was later allowed to be part of the IPL 4 after the team owners had filed a case against the decision and also won the same so as to continue playing in the tournament.

Rajasthan Royals (RR) in IPL 4

Rajasthan Royals had retained only two players before proceeding to the auction and those two are the Australian players Shane Warne and Shane Watson. In addition to the duo, they have also bought few experienced players like Taylor, Dravid, Collingwood, Tait and Botha. This time too they have included a number of young talents in their squad who would be playing their first match on 09.04.2011 against Deccan Chargers in Hyderbad. Following are the list of the players included in the Squad of Rajasthan Royals for IPL 4.
Aakash Chopra, Ashok Menaria, Aditya Dole, Ajinkya Rahane, Amit Paunikar, Abhishek Raut, Deepak Chahar, Dishant Yagnik, Faiz Fazal, Johan Botha, Nayan Doshi, Pankaj Singh, P Collingwood, Rahul Dravid, Ross Taylor, Samad Fallah, Siddharth Trivedi, Shane Warne, Shane Watson, Shaun Tait

The home ground of the team is known to be the Sawai Mansingh Stadium and Sardar Patel Stadium in which they would be seen playing the most. The most expensive players present within the team includes Warne who was bought at 1.8 million USD, Watson at 1.3 million USD and Taylor at 1 million USD. They spent a sum of around 6.94 million USD approximately in the Indian Premiere League 2011 auction for getting those players to play for them.

Although they remained as the champions of the first edition of the tournament in 2008, their performance in the subsequent editions were not the best and has failed to create any special impact with their performance. Overall, they played about 42 matches so far out of which they managed to win in only 23 of them while losing 18 matches and one match being abandoned due to rain.

No matter what was their performance in the previous two tournaments, they will still step out as one of the favorite as they have the potential to carry on and win which they have proved to be true when they became the first champions of IPL in 2008.