Kochi Tuskers Kerala (KTK) Team Squad in Indian Premiere League 2011 (IPL 4) | Assam Journal

Kochi Tuskers Kerala (KTK) Team Squad in Indian Premiere League 2011 (IPL 4)

Kochi Tuskers Kerala (KTK) is one of the new team franchise participating in the Indian Premiere League 2011 and will thereby register their first appearance in the tournament. It came into existence on April 2010 and is owned by Kochi Cricket Pvt. Ltd. and sponsored by the Federal Bank in India. The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium located at Kochi is their official homeground whereas they have preferred to take the orange and purple color theme for their jersey or uniform to suit their team. The team won the franchise bid in the auction at a value of Rs.1533.32 crores made by Rendezvous Sports World and has emerged as one of the second most expensive franchise team being sold among the nine other teams in the Indian Premiere League.

The coach of the Kochi Tuskers Kerala (KTK) is Geoff Lawson of Australia while Hrishikesh Kanitkar, Sanjay Banger and VVS Laxman of India will be serving as the assistant coach for the team.

Kochi Tuskers Kerala (KTK) in IPL 4

The team squad has been prepared in a very balanced way with some well experienced and high-profile players along with young and some least known players. The team has bought players mostly belonging to Australia while there are some players from Sri Lanka and England as well including the Indian players too. They will be stepping out to play their first tournament under the leadership of Mahela Jayawardene who is an experienced campaigner of the Sri Lankan cricket team. Some of the popular names in the squad are Sri Lanka's bowling legend Muttiah Muralitharan and explosive batsman Brendon McCullum who is known to be the leading run scorer in the T20 format.
Balachandra Akhil, Deepak Chougule, Raiphi Vincent Gomez, Brad Hodge, Ravindra Jadeja, John Hastings, Kedar Jadhav, Michael Klinger, Brendon McCullum, Muttiah Muralitharan, Owais Shah, Thissara Perera, Parthiv Patel, Ramesh Powar, P.Prasanth, RP Singh, Steven Smith, S Sreesanth, Stephen O’Keefe, Sushant Marathe, Tanmay Srivastava, Mahela Jayawardene, Vinay Kumar, Yashpal Singh

They will be playing their first match in IPL 4 against Royal Challengers Bangalore in Kochi on 9th April 2011. They seemed to be ready for the match and will be playing with a balanced team comprising all-rounders, explosive and in-form batsman and some very talented and experienced bowlers. Since it is their appearance in the Indian Premiere League, there certainly is a lot of excitement among the fans and admirers of the Kochi team and everyone is simply looking forward to witness some good performance by their team in the upcoming IPL edition.

The theme song of Kochi Tuskers Kerala is about to be released soon which would be featuring Malayalam Actress Rima Kallingal and the song is being filmed by famous film director Priyadarshan. It is believed to be released on the 6th day of April 2011 as has been said on their official blog.